by jessie cochran, director of development events

On Tuesday, June 4, the National Building Museum held its 27th annual Honor Award gala, celebrating Turner Construction Company for its 111-year history of being a pioneer in the construction industry. Company founder Henry C. Turner is credited with introducing a patented concrete reinforcing technique to New York, which not only allowed the company to more efficiently build safer and stronger buildings, but also significantly impacted the landscape of the city. To this day, Turner still maintains the innovative ideals of Henry C. Turner by embracing emerging technologies such as Building Information Modeling (BIM) and using lean construction practices. Turner Construction Company is recognized worldwide for its work, as evidenced by its extensive resume of buildings including the Burj Khalifa, Madison Square Garden, Tuntex Sky Tower, and many more.

More than 500 guests attended the elegant black-tie event in the Museum’s majestic Great Hall. The gala, which is the Museum’s premiere fundraising event, raised $700,000 to support the Museum’s acclaimed exhibitions and educational programs. Chase W. Rynd, president and executive director, and Whayne S. Quin, chair of the Museum’s board of trustees, presented the award to Turner president and chief executive officer Peter Davoren, who accepted the award on behalf of everyone who has worked for the company over its history.

Guests heard from several special speakers, including Louis Chênevert, chairman and chief executive officer of United Technologies. Chênevert, a 2009 Honor Award recipient, praised Turner for its ingenuity and leadership.  Additionally, Arrie Hurd, a participant in Museum education programs such as Investigating Where We Live and the Design Apprenticeship Program, spoke at the event. Arrie currently interns at a design firm in New York City, and credits the Museum’s programs with sparking his creativity at an early age.





Number of guests at the Honor Award gala

The National Building Museum presents its Honor Award annually to leaders who have shaped our heritage, defined our culture, developed our communities, and crafted our built environment. Past recipients include Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Lady Bird Johnson, DuPont, Major League Baseball and the National Football League, and The Associated General Contractors of America. For more information on the Honor Award or to see more pictures from this year’s gala, please visit the 2013 Honor Award website.

Image: Original illustration by senior graphic designer Vlad Zabavskiy.